'03 Rear Brakes Questions

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Antony Joseph

Reaction score
Hi,

I am an automotive newbie, and I need a reality check on what I have been advised. My '03 ST is at $49.5K, and my "Check Brake" light has come on a couple time -- most usually when it gets cold. I took it in to have it checked out, and was advised that my:

1) front & rear brake pads needs to be replaced

2) rear rotors need to be replaced because there are worn through .. although there is still 10% pads on the rear brakes

3) brake system needs to be flushed.

I always believed that the front brakes would wear out faster than the rear, but this is the first time I have owned a truck. Replacing the front & rear brake pads makes sense, but I am puzzled why the rear rotors would wear out, and especially since I have not heard any squealing noises to let me know the brakes are wearing not. Lastly, in looking at the owners manual, I don't see any thing in there for the brake system flush.

Appreciate any words of wisdom to help me understand whether or not this is logical, and any suggestions you might have.

Rgds,

a lot of rear rotors today are at MIN thickness from new.... once you measure them after in use they are below the min spec and need to be replaced....

The brake fluid flush is a great thing to do.... it increases system life and braking performance....

The light came on because more then likely the fluid under the hood was low due to the brake pads being low or worn....

You probably could get away with replacing the pads and doing the flush, cleaning the rotors and call it a day,...

But the rotors are around $40 - $50 each and can be found cheaper if you look around...

Todd Z

Todd,

Thanks for the great response - definitely helps me understand the "why"!