05 ST XLT Just Purchased......Any Advice?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeremy Ezell

Reaction score
Hello all...

Brand new to the site, just joined, because last week, got a GREAT deal on a truck I've always wanted.... Sport Trac!!! It's an 2005 XLT Rear Wheel Drive with the hard top on the bed. It's a V6. It had 36k on it...snagged it for a nice price.

I am new to Fords and ST's and wanted to ask for any general advice you may have...what should I get maintenance, what should I anticipate, etc?

Thank you!

Jeremy. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
First of all, don't tell us what you paid - you'll make us feel bad.

Seriously, I'd start by looking though the projects (see link on left side of page), and do a search in the message board for anything of interest to you. Lots of good stuff in these areas.

Unless you have assurances that it was done, start by doing the items listed on the 30K maintenance schedule. You can download an owner's manual and maintenance schedule at

https://www.fleet.ford.com/maintenance/owners_manuals/default.asp

good luck and welcome to the site!

WELCOME to the site and GOOD luck wit the truck !!!!

Agreed, I would look and check EVER fluid level in the truck..... Check belts hoses things like that....

There were a couple of common things like the upper rad hose rubs on the tranny dipstick, Oil can leak out of the hose on the back of the driver side valve cover...

A Zip tie fixes them.....

Check all fluids, at 36K I would change the air filter, and fuel filter. Check the belt....

Todd Z

Welcome to the site Jeremy,

Todd just said a GREAT one. (It's a VERY common problem.)

Shocks, Double Check the Tire Pressure. That'll help save tires...

and like rmac siad check the projects board.(you can go crazy there with miscelaneous mods to help out your trac...)

Good Luck with your ST.:)

rob