Black Magic, Question....

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larry Phillips

Reaction score
I was looking through your rollpan build up pictures, and I had a question. Forgive me, I've never done fiberglass builds before, and I'm just trying to learn as much as I can before I attempt it. Then, I figure the best way to learn is to do...

I saw this picture, and it looks like the foam block shaved sanded and shaped to your design. First, what's holding it to the back of the truck?

[Broken External Image]:

Then I saw these two shots, but it doesn't look like foam anymore, is it?

[Broken External Image]:

[Broken External Image]:

Larry, in that first shot I think that stool is holding it up against the truck.

1st picture- looks like the seat is holding it up

2nd and 3rd pic- looks like he has brackets on them. and he might have resined it then added soem fibergalss to reinforce on the insde, and it looks like was at the bondo stage.

Boodro

Larry, I suggest getting some resin and fg mat and practice a bit. It will take a bit of practice to get the resin mixture correct so you have time to use it all before it begins to cure, as well as, mixing it properly so that it does cure. It's not that difficult but if you haven't done it before this will be a big help. You'll need some disposable paint brushes (cheapies), probably one quart paint buckets (flexible so you can pop out dried resin), long sleeve shirt and sweats for working with the fg mat (cutting to size etc), a GOOD gas mask (prevent from burning too many brain cells, and disposable rubber gloves. I may be forgetting something but these will be most of the necessities. Whatever clothes you wear make sure they are junk, if you get resin on them, and you probably will.

dont get the resin on you, it burns.....I learn that every time I FG.