1. Welcome to the new home for MySportTrac.com!

    Please click here to find all the info about the move to the new site!

    To access your account you will need to reset your password here

Front Rotors 2002 Sport Trac Remove

Thread in 'Brakes' started by Ron Fellman, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. Ron Fellman

    Ron Fellman Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Location:
    Media, Pa
    How do I remove the rotors 2002 Sport trac. I have removed the calipers. I see 2 bolts on the back but not sure what size they are and which way to turn them..... I dont want to round them off



    thanx

    I know its a stupid question
     
  2. Ron Fellman

    Ron Fellman Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Location:
    Media, Pa
    I found a post with pics.... I cannot get the 2 bolts to move on the caliper mounting bracket--- any ideas.?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2009
  3. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    21,266
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Are you 2wd or 4wd ???



    looking at the bolt, you need to go Righty tighty and lefty loosey....



    Todd Z
     
  4. Eric Pennal

    Eric Pennal Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    D/FW, TX
    It's been quite a while since I replaced mine, but I seem to remember having to use a breaker bar to loosen something in there. Maybe that was it. Use the correct size socket and a lot of elbow grease (a 6 point socket is less likely to round off the bolt heads than a 12 point).
     
  5. Ben Geller

    Ben Geller Active Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    I just did mine. A small breaker bar on the end of your ratchet with a little nudge from a hammer on the end of the bar and the bolt started. There was locktite on my bolt.



     
  6. Scott Tanner

    Scott Tanner Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Marcellus, NY
    they are a 15mm bolt... use breaker bar, 6pt deep socket...
     
  7. TRACket Paul

    TRACket Paul Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    2,360
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    or a standard socket and a short extension.
     
  8. Ron Fellman

    Ron Fellman Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Location:
    Media, Pa
    thanx everyone. yes a 15 mm socket w/ breaker bar and elbow grease.... it was tough but I got it...

    thank you so much for the responses. I started to round of the bolt but finally got it. I will see if a 12 pt works better and repost
     
  9. Tom Schindler

    Tom Schindler Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Akron, OH


    A 12 point socket will NEVER work better at loosening hard to remove bolts and nuts.



    A word of caution. When you put the bracket back on, make sure you use lock-tite. I failed to do that once and had a caliper bolt come off and the bracket wedged in the wheel rendering that wheel into scrap.





    Tom
     
  10. hal keiner

    hal keiner Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA
    FYI. The Ford Sport Trac OEM shop manual says to always use new bolts whenever the brake bracket is removed. Something about the bolts being stretched/tensioned when installed which makes them less reliable when re-used. You can buy new replacement bolts for this exact purpose at an automotive parts store. The bolts come with loctite like stuff already on the threads. I am sure there are many that reuse the old bolts without a problem, but I just thought I would mention what Fords says about this.
     
  11. Tom Schindler

    Tom Schindler Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Akron, OH


    Never read that in the manual, of course never looked for it either. I wouldn't doubt that it is a torque to yield fastener.



    $20 bucks says that the dealer doesn't replace them. The way to tell is go to the parts department and ask for 4 bolts. Bet they don't stock them. If they replaced them, they would stock them.





    Tom
     
  12. Kevin Palmer

    Kevin Palmer Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner V6 Engine

    Messages:
    9,349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Location:
    Madison, OH
    I agree with Tom on this one.



    While at our shop, there were a few times we were forced to cut the heads of the bolts off and slide the support off over the threads. Then we would heat up the area and spin the studs out with vice grips.



    Sooo, off to Ford and they did not stock the bolts.
     
  13. TheOutlawNiles

    TheOutlawNiles Member 1st Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V6 Engine

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    There might be something to using new bolts. Did a brake job a few months ago and today on a trip where I was 172 miles away from home, the bottom bolt that holds the bracket to the steering knuckle fell out going 70mph. Didn't know it happened until I hit the exit ramp. Heard a werid noise. Ended up making a hole in the of the wheel. Walked to a parts store and got a replacement bolt and a wrench to put it on with. Got home on the spare but now I'm so worried about it happening again.
     
  14. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    21,266
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    They have Locktight on them for a reason from the factory.... sadly people don't ever put any back and bolts fall out.
     

Share This Page