Fully Custom Exhaust

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craig Childs

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am wanting to extrude as much power (and therefore hopefully gas mileage) as possible from my '05 Trac, and I figured that one of the best ways to do this is to put together a fully custom exhaust, complete with new headers, 2.5" tubing, high flow cat converters, new muffler (of course) and everything else I need (gaskets, hardware, etc.).

And now the tricky part; I want to keep the tubing from each side of the engine completely separate. i.e. I want the only place that the exhaust gases from the opposite side of the engine to meet each other is in the muffler. Now, I am new to the whole performance modification department, and I have no idea what kind of results this will give me, or if this set up will be a good fit for my truck. My question is whether or not this will be a good set up for my little 4.0 V6, and whether or not it is worth the time, money and effort to buy all the parts I need and install them the way I would like. I am curious as to whether or not I will get much better performance and gas mileage from this set up or if the gains will be worth the trouble.

Also, I should probably note that I am planning on buying a K&N intake, new throttle body, new coil, ignition wires, and anything else I can get my hands on for a good price. But my main concern is about the exhaust set up and whether or not it is worth it to buy all that. Thanks in advance guys.

Depending what your state laws are, you MUST have converters on your truck...

Now if you don't care, the other issue is the REAR 02 sensor, IT reads how the CATS are working...

Via the XCAL you can turn it off, but if you ever turn it back on it will throw a code with no cats....

ALSO you can go too big with exhaust and hurt the way the engine performs..