I hate these brakes!!!!

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

V6 Viking

Reaction score
My god....do the brakes on these trucks suck! I have to tell you that when these rotors warp they're awful....so I get new rotors (old ones were cut to minimum) thinking that it'll be better...no such luck....1000 miles later and the truck feels like it's falling apart.

Does everyone else have these same issues? I used all raybestos parts, and I've been doing my own brakes for 15 years.

Any suggestions? I've actually considered not buying another ford because of how poorly the brakes feel in this truck.

Any input is welcome. Thanks.

-Matt

I would have to say the opposite completely...

Before the ST I owned a Doge Dakota, THAT WAS BAD - I got it NEW in 97, by 2004, I changed the brakes atleast 10-15 times.

Ive changed the brakes on my ST once, since ive owned it. (2 Years) No wobbling or anything, just simply worn pads.

I am hard as heck on brakes.

Mine's got 46K on it. I've had it since 28K. Same pads and rotors, no shaking, stops great.

Me, on the other hand, replaced the firs set of pads at 14k miles, then again (this time with rotors) at 28k, this time with Bendix SUV brand, so far so good, but it's been only 10k miles, and I'm also hard on the brakes.

Over 125,000 miles. Original rotors and rear shoes. Second set of front pads, turned the rotors once.

I am also on my second set of those so called crappy Goodyears. :D

I replaced mine at @ 22k with Ford replacement parts, and I've replaced the front pads again at @65k. I've got 85k on it now... I'm not overly hard on the brakes, I never use 'em. I've got the 100 mile commute between my houses down pat, and can do almost the entire trip through the mountains without kicking off the cruise control!