Income Tax Software

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wes Davis

Reaction score
Anyone using TurboTax. I need the Home & Business version as I am an independent contractor employee and I need the deductions. My question: Turbo 2009 is $90.00, Turbo 2008 is $40.00. Do I need the 2009 version? Anyone want to suggest an alternative to Turbo. Please provide your opinions/experiences.

Every year, tax laws and forms change, and in turn, we completely revise TurboTax to comply with the current federal and state requirements.

Because TurboTax is designed for a specific tax year, you need TurboTax 2009 to do your 2009 tax return. You cannot convert or upgrade TurboTax 2008 to TurboTax 2009.

TurboTax 2009 is available at many retail stores from approximately mid-November 2009 until mid-April 2010 and year-round at www.turbotax.com.

I buy the new version every year, and have been using Turbo Tax for about 10 years now. Seems to have done me well.. no complaints.

I've used Turbo tax for many years without any problems. Don't trust most of them Yahoo's out there doing taxes. If your military, Turbo Tax usually offers it for free. I just retired so I'll be paying for it this year. Plus you can claim the cost of the software as tax prep fees.

Last edited by a moderator:
We used to get an email every year at work. I know the link is old, but I just did a quick google on it. Link for more----

Checked Turbo Tax- they changed it up this year. Free to use, print, and E-file but you got to pay at the end a reduced price for it. All versions included in the offer.

Even though we are military I doubt we qualify for any of the free stuff since I'm self employed, and have a rental property. That usually complicates things, thanks for the links though.

I have used TurboTax for about 14-15 years and will continue to use it since it is the premier tax software.