Leaking rims

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emory

Reaction score
I have an issue with my rim leaking air. The leak is VERY slow. I had a tire shop that I know and trust look at them to see if they could find the leak. (Actually, I believe BOTH front tires/rims are now leaking). Note that I've been putting air in the two front rims for at least a couple of years. That's how slow they leak down. However, the right front leak became worse recently. The shop found no issues with the tires but said that at least one of the wheels is so corroded that the leak-down is coming from between the bead and rim. They cleaned the rims as best as they could and replaced all stems but said that they doubt that it would have stopped the leak down. It didn't. I put a can of green slime in the worst culprit and hoped that would stop the leak. It slowed but has not stopped. These are the chrome cladded 2008 rims 17". My vehicle spent most of it's life in West Va. where snow and road salt is heavily used. I either have to A) replace the wheels, or B) make some other attempt at stopping the leak(s). Has any of you had this issue happen? It's a first for me. If the wheels are that compromised, maybe I should find replacements. Have any of you found a source for these style wheels? They appear to be pretty damned expensive.

If you cant have it repaired by a welder (has to be aluminum if the rim is aluminum)
Then you're stuck replacing it.

My 02 Grand Am had 3 rims do that over time (262K miles)
I actually just purchased another rim this morning to replace the 3rd leaking rim.
Fix a Flat USED to stop the leak, but it just gets annoying or stops working.