Oil Change Frequency

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Will someone please answer the eternal question???....I have a 2007 Trac with 83,000 miles on her and have religiously changed the oil with regular 5/30 oil every 3,000 miles. Is this still the rule???? (6 cyl)

Be well.

I change mine every 5000 miles with Motorcraft synthetic blend like the manual says. Works for me. I used to be an every 3000 mile changer.

I have a 2004 currently with 152,000 miles on it. I change my oil every 10,000 miles. But I use Royal Purple Full Syn 5w30. And I use the K/N filter. I even fill up with 6 quarts.

I've been doing 5000 miles on my vehicles for the last 8 years or so unless I'm towing my boat a lot in the summer, then I'll do it sooner.

Two years using the Mobil 1 Extended Performance with Mobil 1 filter. Changing between 12K and 15K miles. I pull waverunners in the summer, and an enclosed 6x12 for 3 weeks. I've had used oil analysis done and it's all within spec. 2-3 oil changes a year. Granted, it's $70 worth of oil and filter, but it's working.:driving:

If you use premium oil filters and full syn oil. Anything less than 8k miles is a waste of $$$ and oil. Unless you are racing.

Premium filters and syn-blend, 5K miles is good. Ford says 7500, though. If I was using straight dino oil. I might change it @ 3k.

I recently sent an oil sample to blackstone labs. K&N oil filter and full syn castrol @ 10k miles. Lab tech said all was well. To continue with the the 10k changes. Im a spirited driver, with Torries 93octane xcal3 tune. If anyone wants I will upload the lab results.

As my motor starts showing signs of wear I will shorten my oil changes. I plan on lab test every 30k miles.

If you got the $$$ and it makes you feel good go for 3k.......:driving: