Problems with Ball Joints!?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave Spade

Reaction score
I just found out from a trusted mechanic that I need all new ball joints on my 2001 Sport Trac. He says that this is a common problem with all Ford trucks... including the F-150, Explorer, and Excursions. Is this true? The reason I question is because he is telling me that it will cost approx. $850 to fix, (includes parts & labor). That seems a bit pricey to me. Does this sound reasonable or fair to anyone here? Has anyone had the same problem.. considering that I was told this is a common problem? I realize that if they are not replaced soon, they can cause me more problems and damage in the future.

I am no mechanic, and am practically a numb nut when it comes to major car repairs. My steering and suspension seem to be in good driving condition. I just recently purchased the 01 Trac about 2 months ago... and now I am being told this.

Thanks for any feedback!

Yup. I ('01, 4WD) and others here have had to have the ball joints replaced.

You (yes you) can test them yourself. Raise the front, grab a wheel or place a board under and try to push the wheel up. If there's a bad ball joint, you'll feel and hear it.

Unless things have changed, the upper control arms will have to be replaced and only the lower ball joints.

I went aftermarket with Moog parts and it cost about $800.00 (all included). I don't recall whether the Ford replacement parts come with grease fittings, but the Moog do.

I choose aftermarket parts because I didn't want to experiment with whatever it is that Ford wants to try now (they should have gotten it right the first time).

Last edited by a moderator: