Really BAD grinding noise from ??

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug Menkhaus

Reaction score
HI, newbie here, found your site EXCELLENT! I apologize in advance if I should've posted somewhere else, but it looks as though this site is the most informative :)

, and, just saw that the last Sporttrac was produced last month! :cry: I did not know the Ford had decided to end the run...sad..

So, quickly, my story. We bought our 2002 Sport Trac from a local dealer in early '03 ("last one on the lot") and have loved it ever since. I originally drove it a lot for work, 90% highway miles, long runs, from Cincinnati to Detroit. Later, in 2006, we bought a smaller car, as I was really racking up the miles, and I wanter better MPG. I kept the ST though, as I have a 1922 Ford Model T that needs to be towed around periodically, and the econo-box doesn't do well in the snow, so we kept the ST. Now, I have ~90,000 miles on it. There have been times over the past few years that I have not driven the ST for upwards of a month, but it has always started right up, (It still has the original battery in it!) and taken me where I had to go. I have regualr maintainence done on it, and fix what I can (brakes, etc) when needed. The only thing I've ever had to do is replace the transmission cooler lines to the radiator as they rusted out up in front.

Drove the car last week. Now, when I first start up the car, and back it down my slightly inclined driveway, the rear brakes are 'touchy'. They tend to grab easily, for the first mile or so. I attributed that rust buildup on the rear brakes, since the car can sit for a while at times. Last week however, the rear brakes were super grabby, as they actually seemed to lock up when backing out of my driveway. I thought, "WOW, really really touchy today". Few quick brake jab on the way down, and it seemed better.