rear axle ratios

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I own an 01 Sport trac 4X4 with 4.10 gears,very happy with this trouble free SUV,Question I hear people talk about 3.73 rear ratio,I do no mud plogging & very litle of road ,Just rocky non paved roads each winter in Mexico {made top of 16000ft volcano last winter} Can anybody give me pros & cons of changing to 3.73? Note I am a retired mechanic so would rebuild myself if I consider it worthwhile, Better gas milaege would be nice

The MPG increase would not be that drastic to do the swap, Unless you can find another 4wd St member that would like to upgrade, then you can swap the rear ends out of both trucks...

You can not simply change the back only because you have 4wd... You have to swap front and rear...

Todd Z

You will get SLIGHTLY improved mileage with slightly less performance.

Others have done comparisons and the mileage increase is actually pretty small for the amount of the labor. Here is an example that I just pulled from the Mileage log, (here at the site).

Group 1

Type of Miles = Mixed

Automatic Transmission

Tonneau Cover

Four Wheel Drive

3.73 Axle

16.37 MPG

Group 2

Type of Miles = Mixed

Automatic Transmission

Tonneau Cover

Four Wheel Drive

4.10 Axle

15.95 MPG15.95 MPG

Last edited by a moderator:
A 3.73 will give you less low-end torque and pulling power, but better top end and MPG, although the difference isn't that great. You'd probably never even really notice a difference between the two.

Pros: Better MPG (in a perfect world)

Cons: Cost, new gears aren't cheap, even doing the work yourself

Downtime, unless you have another vehicle or are quick at gear swaps

Possibly no difference in the real world