Suggestions Please.

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Garrow

Reaction score
I'm new to the car/truck business after working 20 years in real estate.

I'm not a pushy salesman and as a matter of fact don't like working with them myself. What is the most importamt thing I can do to earn a shoppers respect & trust... what would you value the most? Right now I really lack product knowledge however I'm learning as fast as I can by watching product videos, reading sales litature & talking with shoppers.

John Garrow

Placerville Ford

530/622-5260

Eye contact, good voice projection and body language.

The product knowledge is great and allways try to find out what the customer likes and dislikes, and play off that.....

Good luck in the new profession !!!

Todd Z

Todd brings up a good point, if the customer knows more than you do, then you need to learn more...

I found if I felt the seller was being up front with me, I was more lenient to the entire sales experience.

If I felt you were blowing smoke or straight out being dishonest to me, I tell them my thoughts and why I feel I am being lied to. If they step up and come clean, were good to go. If not, I simply walk out and go elsewhere.

I went to three Ford dealers when I was trading in my Trac on another Trac. I bought a Lexus RX due to the comfort level I felt from Lexus after leaving the 3 Ford dealers. I caught all three in a lie, told them the exact reason, they dug their hole deeper. I simply gave them the shovel to do so.

Good luck to you...

Forgot to mention. A salesman once said to me... "If I have to sell it to you chances are you don't need it".

I took that to me, if he had to persuade me to buy it, then it probably wasn't wither the right vehicle or financing or whatever. To me, it meant he was there to compliment the decision I already made for the most part....