Towing with a '10

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

USA Harmening

Reaction score
I am new to towing and am considering buying a RV-trailer. What we looked at today and liked today is an '08 Rockwood Roo 26RS and that has a dry weight of 4280. My '10 Trac with 4.0 towing capacity with Class III/IV is 5080 lbs.

Do I have to include the weight of my passengers and all in-truck cargo? Or do I have 800 lbs to spare in the trailer?

How do you think she'd do?

Buy a bigger truck or a smaller trailer. Advertised weights of travel trailers are infamous for being understated, sometimes severely. I wouldn't be surprised if empty that trailer was almost at the max capacity of your ST, and that's before figuring water, food, propane and alot of other things that you will end up packing in to it.

your towing capacity also includes all items in the truck and box.. 800 lbs is not a lot when you add 2 adults, 2 children, food, clothing toys, water if you dry dock. etc. and what kind of towing (terrian).

I was towing a 19 ft hybrid of 2800lbs when all was said and done, the trailer was over 3600lbs alone, and i still had a truck box full. I am sure i was up to the 4000 lbs mark. that was just my wife and I .

We have a lot of large hills here, and the poor truck was in the slow lane for all of them.

If i had to redo it, I would go full size with a v8. (then i could also get a bigger trailer)

Short answer is yes, that 800 lbs is for your passengers and cargo in the truck.