transfer rims 2004 to 2010?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RMYLY

Supporting Member
Reaction score
What engine do you have?
V8 engine
What year is your Sport Trac?
What Generation is your Sport Trac?
2n Gen Owner
Have a 2004 ST now but getting a 2010 ST AWD...will the rims from the 2004 ( oe size) be usable on the 2010. I have snows on them and it will save me buying new ones for winter.Thanks

I looked up both on wheel-size.com.

Both list the same base specs for the 235/70R16 wheels, except that the offset is 44mm for the 2010 and 12mm for the 2004. I am no wheel expert, but believe that means the 2004 rims will protrude out 32 mm (about 1 1/4") further than the 2010 factory rims.

What that means for ride, handling, and any other consequences, someone will else will need to chime in.

Thanks Stephen...great site there.From what i see ,the rim size for 2004 is 7Jx16 ET12 compared to the 2010 of 8Jx20 ET35 ( i believe the truck has 20" now). So it seems the all the 2010's have an offset of either 35 OR 44....does this mean that putting the 2004 rim with the 12 offset on the 2010 would be a problem ?

Going to larger (more positive) is especially precarious, because it places the back of the wheel further in board, running the risk of rubbing suspension components etc.

Going smaller (more negative) pushes the wheel and rim away from suspension, and possibly out of the plane of the wheel well. That may be OK functionally, so long as the fender doesn’t hit the wheel (including under full upward travel). Looks wise, people probably have mixed feelings, but these are just winter tires you are talking about...

Here is a snippet of an article on the Internet: