What color is Royal Purple gear oil?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom Schindler

1st Gen Owner
V6 Engine
Reaction score
Well, as many of you know, we are replacing the differential cover on my wifes Explorer with a clear one. My wife asked about the color of Royal Purple gear lube.

I told her I think it is purple, but I am not sure.

Can anyone confirm it?

She thinks it would be cool to have purple fluid in the differential. It doesn't matter for me, but she is excited about it.

Tom

Regal One, I am no expert, just that there was quite a few site members back in '02 & '03 that raved about RP so I put it in ours and really liked it. I could have just as well put in Amsoil or Mobil 1, and have been just as happy. All I know is that using synthetic oil beats the heck out of Dyno oil. ;)

It is like this. Dad is hell bent on AMSOIL. I could care less. If canola oil would be just as good, I would use it.

Theresa would like purple fluid "because it would look cool", but Dad is brainwashed into thinking AMSOIL is the best there is. I have been able to talk him into POSSIBLY using RP if it is 100% synthetic based on not conventional based like Mobil1 actualy is.

So far, I have seen RP is 100% synthetic based. So I might just go for it. (If you knew Dad, you would understand)

Tom

I read that list already. One of the testers was Longview Inspection.

I used to work for Longview Inspection. They have since changed their name to Acuren Inspection.

J/K Rodger but I know I switched to RP on my first oil change after reading your post on it. Have to get the tranny fluid flushed yet in a couple thousand miles, and my dealer told me that if I bring it in, they will flush and refill with RP. If the gear oil is same as the oil, it is not really dark purple, just a tint of purple.

I have 3 cases of R/P Gear oil at home.... all 3 weights

Tom,