Will a 2008 ST "49" state pass CA SMOG?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chris smith 5

Reaction score
I'm Military overseas. I sold my 01 ST right before moving to Turkey and I'm just about finished with my tour here. I've found a 2008 ST V8 that I want to buy but things are getting tricky. My next duty assignment is Travis AFB. I understand that a vehicle must have more than 7500 miles on it before coming to cali, and I know that I would normally be exempt because I'm military but here is the problem.... First, I'm a California resident. Have been for 9 years. Second, the truck will be purchased from out of state and never previously registered by myself. As I understand it, if I previously registered it another state I'm good to go because I'm military. If it comes down to it, and I'm not able to skirt the emission requirements, will it pass California SMOG? The lady at the DMV says passing smog may be my only chance.......

My 02 which I purchased in VA passed CA smog testing with no problems when we moved to CA.. But I think there is more to it than just passing smog, might want to check with multiple DMV sources to verify they will still register it.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been a CA resident all my life, so I am not sure how to answer your question. I can give it my best shot. I see from your profile that you are from North Dakota, so you could possibly register it there then bring it to CA. Also, check with the Air Force to see what your options are. You can do a pre-test at a dealer, or a place that is not a Smog Only Test Station.

Shoot me an email when you get to Travis, and we can have a mini meet.

Is no such thing as kali smog legal, all cars built in the last 25 yrs are kali legal

Any car shipped to any state is the same.All meeting kali smog rules.