$@#*!!!!!!!!!! 2-3 FLARE!!!!

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larry Phillips

Reaction score
It came back!! But I guess I can't complain too much as it waited until 127K to do it. I've been reading up on the 2-3 flare, so I know about the valve body gasket problems, etc etc. The strange part, is it doesn't flare when I shift manually 1-2-D on takeoff, only when I take off in D. Why would it do that? I looked at the fluid (dipstick) and it doesn't seem to be burnt, it's still red and at the proper level, even though it's about time for a fluid change. Any ideas beyond that? I was thinking about trying the Lucas transmission additive until I can perform a fluid change to see if it'll help temporarily. I haven't had the OD light of death yet. (knock on wood)

I'm no expert or mechanic by any means, but I would definitely have it taken care of. It's there and it's not going to get better.I would think putting a band-aid on it will just be delaying the inevitable.

Because when you shift it manually you put the transmission into "full pressure up" so the transmission is running at the maximum pressure that the EPC will allow.

Have you done the EPC adjustment yet??? If not try that first and then you can increase or decrease the pressure using your Xcal 2.

Paul H

I just went thru the same thing... 2-3 weeks ago.

when they pulled mine apart i actually got to see and watch what was going on.

FORD was in there one time in Nov. 2002 (brought it in for the same issue) and they/the mechanic at ford thought he could make it correct. but they didn't. they left something out internally maybe there was a TSB on it or something, who knows.... but it was never right since. took it back to them and another Ford dealer and they said it was OK... so i just drove it casually for 4 years....