I'd like to meet the designer...(rant)

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shawn stonbraker 2

Reaction score
Boy would I like to meet the designer of the ST and put him out of MY misery!!!! I just put new spark plugs in and after 2 hours and enough of my DNA left inside the passenger side of the engine compartment, I'm about fit to be tied!! I had 45k on my 2003 and figured before they got "cemented" in there I'd change them out. I did go into it knowing that it was tough but holy sh*t, that's insane! I did go with Bosch +2 platnums so hopefully it'll be awhile before I have to do it again. I looked at my wife's Mountaineer and it has the same engine and I could get to all plugs WITHOUT going through a wheelwell.(thank god) Good thing I'm not a mechanic anymore. I'd hate to be a costumer that would want me to do it now. I did get it done though and it does run great (had a very small hesitation on takeoff) Sorry for the rant but just wanted others to know that it isn't a real fun job to do. Anyone know of an easier way that doesn't take having to give a skin sample?;)

Bite the proverbial bullet on this one - take it to a shop, pay the ransom, go have a few beers while it's being done. When you get back to the shop, you can say "Good thing I'm not a mechanic anymore". In the end, you'll be happier (or, at least, less unhappy).

Last edited by a moderator:
Oh it's not that bad. Besides, you have the satisfaction of knowing someone didn't change the easy 4 and leave the 2 old ones in the back.

All new cars are designed this crappy in regards to workspace.

Usually I have nothing better to do. However, I think my next spark plug change will be at the shop! I'll pay somebody to do that. I need some A/C juice anyway. Might go this week!

Could remove the fenders........

Todd Z