Just bought Solo-Baric, need Audio help

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Just bought 1 Kicker Solo-baric S8L7 on Ebay. 170.00 shipped. I need advice on an amp. I'm not very good with Ohms, and Bridging, and channels, so any help is appreciated. Also, I will just be running one speaker. I don't want to have a rap concert in my ST. I just want a little deeper bass, and richer sound. However, I have heard that It is not good to underpower a Solo-baric

TIA

Im not sure about the rower requirmentents of that specific solo baric, but in terms of power you want an amp that thats rms power is euqual too or greater than the rms power req. of the sub. Getting an amp thats power output is less than that will not let the sub work to its full potential. Power doesnt ncessarily mean extremely loud, but allows for a deeper fuller bass. Two channel would be enough for just one sub.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well I guess the question is did you get the 2 or 4 ohm speaker.

If they are 4 ohms you can get the kicker kx400.1

it is almost a perfect match and you will run your speaker in parallel.

If you got the 2ohm speaker you can get the kx 450.2. You can run your speaker in series and bridge your amp and it will put out 450 bridged

for info on series and parallel go to

I would suggest a rockfordfosgate amp. They're tough little amps that are reasonably priced and have all the adjustments you need to produce the sound that you want. It'll take some tweaking but it can be done easily. Also some of their amps are stable at 1 ohm so even if you have a 2 ohm or a 4 ohm sub you should be ok. Almost all of their amps are bridgable and have built in crossovers as well as seperate bass control that can be installed remotely from the amp for your easy access. You could adjust it depending on what your mood is that day.