Wi-Fi Thermostats...and other home automation

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

H D

Reaction score
Is anyone using a Wi-Fi enabled thermostat? Thoughts? Is it really any more useful than a regular programmable thermostat?

Reviews led me to the Honeywell Model # RTH9580WF. The Nest and Ecobee just seemed to have too many drawbacks that seemed addressed or non-issues with the Honeywell.

Also, does anybody have any other home automation devices that they recommend or warn against?

Im no expert, but IMO. From years of doing my own HVAC work and familes. Experiance wise I wont buy anything but Honeywell. Not familiar with your model t-stat. It seems as if all models I have used just wont die. Or I just have good luck. Even at work as a proccess control tech. Some of the best industrial temp controllers were honeywell. Standalones or tied into DCS systems.

I know that is not your question, but my 2cents....:grin:

I will second Eddies two cents.

Years ago I replaced a new Honeywell thermostat with a fancy programmable Hunter unit shortly after I had my whole heating cooling system replaced with a new energy efficient heat-pump. What a waste of money. I was having a lot of problems with my new heat-pump when it turned out to be the Hunter thermostat. It said it was designed for heat pumps, but it really wasn't. When my HVAC guys came back to check out what was wrong, they saw the Hunter thermostat and said that was my problem. It was not compatible with my heat-pump because it did not have a connection for another wire.

They re-installed the original Honeywell thermostat that came with my new HVAC system and it worked perfectly.