2003 Sport Trac Adrenalin XLT 4x4, 206k miles, broken timing chain for $1,000. Worth it?

Help Support SportTrac.org:

imapotato

Reaction score
The guy says the 4x4 transmission works fine, no accidents, and two owners. Leather interior looks clean. Exterior has expected dings for a 17 year old car. I want to pull the engine, replace the chains, and do the timing. Then change the fluids, filters, and spark plugs. This is a long/slow project while waiting for my lease to run out. I'm not a mechanic but I believe I've researched enough to finish it over a couple weekends.
Is it worth it to buy this and turn it into a daily driver? Driving 10,000 to 12,000 miles a year. I'm not sure on any maintenance done yet or whats been replaced. Ultimately i'm trying to make a calculated gamble.

DILLARD000

1st Gen Owner
V6 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Reaction score
Much depends on your mechanical skills\patience, pocket book, & how much you like this truck?
Minimum you'll likely spend $1500+ in new parts:
~ All Timing Components
~ Oil Pump, Pressure Sensor
~ Tools, Engine Lift
~ Gaskets, Filters, Fluids
~ Plugs+Wires+Coil, O2 Sensors
~ Coolant ThermoStat+Housing+Hoses+HeaterControlValve
Possibly another $1000+ to replace any\all of these:
~ MAFSensor, ThrottlePosSensor, IACValve, DPFESensor, EGRValve, PCVValve
~ Coolant Pump+Radiator
~ Fuel Pump+Filter
~ CatConvertors
~ RearLeafSprings, Other Suspension Items, Brakes, Tires
~ TransferCase ShiftMotor+ControlModule
Possibly another $500+ for
~ Transmission ValveBodyRebuildKit +ATF +Filter

All above assumes both Engine+Tranny are in working\servicable\repairable condition
& that you do the work yourself; if either has to be replaced, add another $1000~$2000.
So purchase+license cost, plus $1500~$5000 to get truck in reliable DailyDriver shape
depending on issues found; critical that you've high confidence\skills\patience, finances,
garage space & time for this work over several weeks\months.
Hope this helps.

Last edited:

rdmallory