2010 Mustang Shifter: Question

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevinbakon

Reaction score
Hey Aaron,

Regarding your shifter swap project . . . .

Overall, it doesn't sound like the project is all too difficult, but I would like any other pointers you might have to offer . . . specifically, which "mechanism" is needed?

It sounds as though the nylon center shaft as well as the knob itself are needed, but beyond that is the entire Selector Lever Assembly needed?

I saw a couple youtube videos for the mustang's shifter, so I understand the button-depressing difference, but I have no knowledge of the inner working differences.

Through Ford, it looks like there are only two parts, the knob & the entire assembly (retail over $300)

It sounds as though the more cost efficient method is to search high and low for a donor, but before I do, I hoped to have a better understanding of what I'm getting into.

Feel free to reply directly or IM me . . . .

Fantastic looking truck by the way, I can't wait to see it the finished product!

I junk yard shopped for a month and found one on eBay - it was $160 for the whole assembly - All i needed afterall was the handle - I made the rest work - If i would have bought the handle only I would have been just fine - I am only waiting for some Billit Pedals

It does take a little work - I could have opened up the black plastic piece and made it work but I just took it from the Mustang. So far - three of my Ford Dealer csutomers have seen it and when they open the door or drive it, they think its OEM - SVT -