Anybody get their $9.99 52" flat screen tv???

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I read that in the morning several TV were bought on the internet but best buy would not honor the price and the credit card charges will be refunded...

I'm no lawyer but wouldn't that constitute a binding contract by Best Buy since they were charging the credit card for the item which they have in stock?

I'm sure somebody will be suing Best Buy soon.

Yea, I would have to agree with cabrera, if somebody bought the TV before they fixed the price and BestBuy charged their credit card...than they technically have to sell it to the customer. JMO

They are not obligated since it was obviously a mistake. If you put a used car for sale on a web site for $3000 and it mistakenly came up as $3, would you feel obligated to sell it for $3.

I got a Blu Ray player for $50.04 from a mistaken ad. It was supposed to be with a big screen, you got the Blu ray for $50.04.

The company honored the ad and took their lumps, I will use them in the future because of that.

However, $10 for a $1600 item is just stupid if you think they will honor that.

I bet the $50.04 was cost, so at least they didn't lose anything, but the TV cost is probably closer to $1200.

That's what the "disclaimer" on the bottom in fine print is for. It's all about that.

Numerous times our store has advertised product to have the ad agency "misprint" a price.

Several people "demanded" the misprinted price to no avail, including a lawyer or two.

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah, that's obviously a gross error. I would't expect to get it at that price. You'd be wasting your time trying to sue, but I'm sure people will.