Bra or Bug Shield?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melody Owens

Reaction score
What is more practical? This is my first time owning a vehicle worthy of keeping it looking nice, and I want to do just that! I live in South FL where rain, road debris (ie: rocks), and extremely large, nasty bugs are rampant. I just bought an 05 ST yesterday (I'm in love already, lol) and want to keep this truck looking good! What would be best? Thanks in advance!!

Melody, Check on Heather in KC's posts regarding the protective 3M film for the front areas. Better than a bra or bugshield. The bra tends to dull the paint in the long run due to vibration plus the accumulated dust underneath. I have a bug shield but haven't installed it yet, so I can't tell if it would be effective. By the way, WELCOME to the site since you joined 3 days ago.

Why not do both? :)

[Broken External Image]:

I started out with the bug shield to protect the hood from all of the junk that the trucks would kick up during my commute. I added the bra later to proctect the rest of the front. I have had no problems with paint fade or scratches anywhere on the front. Just make sure you clean and wax regularly under it.

Chris

Howdy Melody !!

Welcome to the site ....lots of great info & lots of great people here. Look in the Project section ... lots of great things you can do to your Trac there. Check out some members' libraries to see what some have done. What color did you get ??? Post some photos soon.

Oh yeah, about the bug guard ...it only protects the edge of the hood from rocks & such ....trufuly I got mine more for the look.

[Broken External Image]:

Welcome,,enjoy the site. A bra tends to damage the paint underneath.

Can cause scratches and paint can fade diferently from the rest.