oil leaks

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ed Fenwick

Reaction score
What engine do you have?
V6 engine
What year is your Sport Trac?
What Generation is your Sport Trac?
1st Gen Owner
Someone sent an Amsiol catalog to me and I am thinking of getting some. The local mechanic says that he has heard of Synthetic oils causing older engins to leak. Mine has 116K miles. This is the only vehicle that I have owned in 40 years that doesn't leak, I am a bit weary of this good stuff. What do you guys think of syn. oil in high mileage engins?

Tks Ed

From what I understand (and I am NOT a mechanic), if you have a leak, any oil will leak these days. Most synthetics & oils clean, and lube (hence why your oil gets dirty). Some say you need a motor flush before adding synthetics, but i don't buy it. There reason was because it wasn't good to mix motor oil, with synthetic, then they released semi-synthetics to the market, and that mumbo jumbo stopped. SO I guess it depends on who you ask. When cheap or older standard or old motor oil gets hot, it cakes, if it cakes over a leak, it plugs it. Solvents remove caking, so hence the leaks. I switched from regular oil, straight to Amsoil at 70k miles with NO problems. Every once in a while I will dump some seafoam in there to help the amsoil about 50-100 miles prior to oil change.

Its not like the AMSOil is going to eat away at your headgasket or something. Just my .02