pioneer Avic D or Z series

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I seriously considered both of these models from Pioneer. My main desire though is the routing/gps feature and Pioneer's mapping interface from Telenav has mixed reviews.

Since I'm already familiar with Garmin and they pretty much set the standard for all other gps devices, I decided to try a Kenwood unit similar in features to the Pioneer Z series.

Don't have it yet, but I'll let you know if your interested once I have some experience with it.

Last edited by a moderator:

I have the D2. I love it. Very nice radio. Sometimes the nav doesn't pick the shortest/fastest route but overall, I would give it a 8/10.

Of course, if you have the money, the Z1 is better.

And, the D3 is coming out soon.

D3 just came out and is all over on ebay. Do a search, I put some pics up a few months ago of a D1 install in a 04 ST. If you look around and are patient, you can get a D1 for under $500. D3's going for about 900, but should drop in a few weeks. Both units have distinct pros/cons.

I have Avic D-2's in my Escalade & Mustang. I asked about the D-3 last week, and the only down side I heard was that the D-3's "look cheap"... I like the fact that you can change the color of the lights on the D-3, very similar to the 'my color' feature on the Mustang.