First ST 2007 Limited

Help Support SportTrac.org:

Scarlett

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
4
Location
Calgary AB Canada
Unfortunately 2007 and 2008 had spark plugs that were known for snapping off in the engine. They were crappy two piece design. You should watch YouTube videos on how to change them and tricks that are out there and potentially buy the tool to remove the broken plug. I would also then highly recommend purchasing the one piece plug and replacing it with that.
The Ford dealer gave me the 547 plugs which is the new upgrade so they said
 

Scott Woods

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V6 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Ulysses, Ks
Unfortunately 2007 and 2008 had spark plugs that were known for snapping off in the engine. They were crappy two piece design. You should watch YouTube videos on how to change them and tricks that are out there and potentially buy the tool to remove the broken plug. I would also then highly recommend purchasing the one piece plug and replacing it with that.
Hey Todd Z, did they use those same plugs on the V-6 as well?
 

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
I replaced my factory system with an 7 inch Android Touch Screen. DVD/CD GPS, Bluetooth, WiFi and any other app you want to download. Will play almost any music file from USB. Steering wheel control compatible. Came with inputs for both forward and rear cameras. Also bought plug and play wiring harness so I wouldn't have to cut any wires. This will disable the factory Sync, but I don't need it now. Pretty sure I got everything off Amazon. Able to set background lights to desired color to match existing dash lights. I only installed the rear camera using an aftermarket Ford tailgate latch which fits several model F150's as well. Had it a couple years and much improved over factory system.
Hey Jetmech.
Is that the pioneer unit in your photos or another brand? If another brand, who makes it and where did you get it? Thanks
 

Todd Z

Well-Known Member
2nd Gen Owner
V6 Engine
V8 Engine
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
21,465
Reaction score
323
Location
Long Island, NY
Not on any v6. also on the late 08-10 they changed the plug completely...
 

Sansjob

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Florida
I replaced my factory system with an 7 inch Android Touch Screen. DVD/CD GPS, Bluetooth, WiFi and any other app you want to download. Will play almost any music file from USB. Steering wheel control compatible. Came with inputs for both forward and rear cameras. Also bought plug and play wiring harness so I wouldn't have to cut any wires. This will disable the factory Sync, but I don't need it now. Pretty sure I got everything off Amazon. Able to set background lights to desired color to match existing dash lights. I only installed the rear camera using an aftermarket Ford tailgate latch which fits several model F150's as well. Had it a couple years and much improved over factory system.
I have this one also. it is a fairly good unit. It starts slow, takes about 30 seconds to boot up, then it has every thing i need and more. i would buy definately it again. In my ST '10 LTD V8 (155,000 mi). It is almost straight up plug and play. Android based, so there are thousands of apps from the play store you can load. Got mine on Amazon. But I wont buy from amazon again since Bozo Bezos said if i didn't support the BLM organization, he didn't need my business. BLM is an admitted Marxist organization. sorry Jeff, I'll buy from US suppliers on E-bay from now on. This unit is probably made in China, which means it's available from many sources.
 

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
I have this one also. it is a fairly good unit. It starts slow, takes about 30 seconds to boot up, then it has every thing i need and more. i would buy definately it again. In my ST '10 LTD V8 (155,000 mi). It is almost straight up plug and play. Android based, so there are thousands of apps from the play store you can load. Got mine on Amazon. But I wont buy from amazon again since Bozo Bezos said if i didn't support the BLM organization, he didn't need my business. BLM is an admitted Marxist organization. sorry Jeff, I'll buy from US suppliers on E-bay from now on. This unit is probably made in China, which means it's available from many sources.
 

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
Sansjob

Thanks for your reply and I'm glad you have the same unit. Now if you could just tell me who makes that unit, I could get one also. Thanks again
 

Sansjob

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Florida
Sansjob

Thanks for your reply and I'm glad you have the same unit. Now if you could just tell me who makes that unit, I could get one also. Thanks again
This is a newer version of the one I have...… this is android 10. I have the android 9 Hispo version. This fit my ST 2010 LTD. This seller ships from Hong Kong. I'm sure it's available from USA suppliers for a couple bucks more. There are a handful of other Plug and Play in dash units that fit STracs on Ebay. As long as they are android you are probably OK. Make sure you get a NAV antenna as part of the package, rather than a unit that wants to just sync your phone to a NAV display. Good luck. oh yeah, one or two minor issues with the steering wheel buttons, but MOST of them work as advertised. I really like the OBD real time display.

Android 10.0 2+64G 7" Car Dash GPS Nav Radio DVR TV for Ford F150 2006 2007 CAM​

 
Last edited:

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
Thanks for getting back to me with the info. Now I can get one to. What do you put in to e bay to look this item up? Also, do they make a unit that has Sync. Built in? That is what I would really like. thanks again.
 

Sansjob

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Florida
Thanks for getting back to me with the info. Now I can get one to. What do you put in to e bay to look this item up? Also, do they make a unit that has Sync. Built in? That is what I would really like. thanks again.
I just searched for this: ( dash radio nav explorer android ) do not use the parentheses Then verify the fitment is for a SportTrac. Look at the attached picture. Mine has the three knobs on the left. Or look at the great pics from jetmech in that previous post. The knobs kind of match the existing interior. there are a hundred different radio units. I'm sure many of the others would work fine too. Or just click on the link in my previous post.

I don't know about the sync. Add it to the search and see what comes up..
 

Attachments

  • ADFD1507009-1_01.jpg
    ADFD1507009-1_01.jpg
    112 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
I just searched for this: ( dash radio nav explorer android ) do not use the parentheses Then verify the fitment is for a SportTrac. Look at the attached picture. Mine has the three knobs on the left. Or look at the great pics from jetmech in that previous post. The knobs kind of match the existing interior. there are a hundred different radio units. I'm sure many of the others would work fine too. Or just click on the link in my previous post.

I don't know about the sync. Add it to the search and see what comes up..
Hey Sansjob
Just ordered same radio you said you have. Like he knobs too. 2 guestions. Does it receive am as well a fm or only fm? Can you play cd's on it? From picture I don't see a slot to install them
 

Sansjob

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Florida
Hey Sansjob
Just ordered same radio you said you have. Like he knobs too. 2 guestions. Does it receive am as well a fm or only fm? Can you play cd's on it? From picture I don't see a slot to install them
i think it has AM, but i don't remember ever using it. there is a DVD/CD tray on mine above the screen.
 

jetmech

Member
ST Supporter
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Location
South Carolina
Hey Jetmech.
Is that the pioneer unit in your photos or another brand? If another brand, who makes it and where did you get it? Thanks
Hi R, sorry I didn't get back to you sooner, as I've had lots going on recently. Looks like you already may have ordered and installed a new system which is very similar to what I have. My unit is Chinese and an unheard of brand, but is just basically like installing an Android tablet that fits in the stock opening very well. Mine does have a DVD/CD player at the top of the unit. It looks like that may be capped closed in the unit you were considering. I find I play far less CD's than I used to as I've transferred so much to an external drive I keep plugged into the available USB extension from the unit. Mine is a couple years old now, but does have AM and FM, but found I never listen to AM anymore either. Someone said most steering wheel buttons will work, which is true and they can be programmed as you like. You will likely lose Sync though, as I did. Overall, I'm satisfied and wouldn't go back to the factory version.
 

Rkb53

Member
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Location
Connecticut
Hi R, sorry I didn't get back to you sooner, as I've had lots going on recently. Looks like you already may have ordered and installed a new system which is very similar to what I have. My unit is Chinese and an unheard of brand, but is just basically like installing an Android tablet that fits in the stock opening very well. Mine does have a DVD/CD player at the top of the unit. It looks like that may be capped closed in the unit you were considering. I find I play far less CD's than I used to as I've transferred so much to an external drive I keep plugged into the available USB extension from the unit. Mine is a couple years old now, but does have AM and FM, but found I never listen to AM anymore either. Someone said most steering wheel buttons will work, which is true and they can be programmed as you like. You will likely lose Sync though, as I did. Overall, I'm satisfied and wouldn't go back to the factory version.
Hey Jetmech

Thanks for getting back to me. I bought a Chinese unit also. Nothing compared to the oem radio but hopefully it will work. 2 questions. Did yours come with a wiring diagram? I did not get one. All I got was a bag with plugs and about a million wires with some labeled and some not. Maybe this is a plug and play it's suppose to be. Was yours a plug and play? I hate to start cutting wires only to find out in the end it doesn't work. Then what do you do? If you ordered a plug and play connector, please tell me where you got it.
Thanks. R
 

jetmech

Member
ST Supporter
2nd Gen Owner
V8 Engine
4 Wheel Drive
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Location
South Carolina
Hey Jetmech

Thanks for getting back to me. I bought a Chinese unit also. Nothing compared to the oem radio but hopefully it will work. 2 questions. Did yours come with a wiring diagram? I did not get one. All I got was a bag with plugs and about a million wires with some labeled and some not. Maybe this is a plug and play it's suppose to be. Was yours a plug and play? I hate to start cutting wires only to find out in the end it doesn't work. Then what do you do? If you ordered a plug and play connector, please tell me where you got it.
Thanks. R
Hi R,
If the harness that came with your unit looks like the one from the pictures, it should be all plug and play with no cutting of wires. I just don't remember if my unit came with the complete harness or I purchased it elsewhere.
 

Attachments

  • Harness.jpg
    Harness.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 11

Latest posts

Top