How often is too often?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melody Owens

Reaction score
Can you over wash a car? Is it ok to wash every other week? And wax once a month? How often should all of this be done? I want to keep my ST is pristine condition, no matter the cost/time it takes. How often should it be washed/waxed/clayed? I just got my 05 on Wednesday, and already has water spots, so she's getting washed/waxed this evening...but how soon can I do all that again? I know the clay thing takes hours, so I won't be able to do that very often, say once a month if I'm lucky. Is that ok, or is even once a month too much? I've never had a car I had to detail, so I am new to all of this! Thanks so much everyone, and as I said in my other post, you guys are awesome...thanks for all the great info!! :D

*Melody*

Welcome to the Sport Trac family, Melody!:D

First, I don't believe you can ever wash a vehicle too often. Wash it as often as you feel is necessary to keep it clean. I'd recommend getting the Mr. Clean AutoDry system to wash with. It is very easy to use and leaves no water spots.

As far as using a clay bar, it really doesn't take that long at all. One, two hours at the most. How long was your Trac sitting on the dealer lot prior to you purchasing it? If it sat a while, you might want to using a clay bar prior to the first wax. Even while sitting out in the open on the dealer lot, it could've picked up some contaminants in the paint. Just follow the instructions included with a clay bar kit and it won't take you long at all. Too see how well a clay bar works, do half of your hood and then feel the difference between the two. It's amazing. You use a clay bar as often as you want also, but just realize that every time you do so, you'll have to wax also, because it strips the wax.